Virgin Mobile

Moto G6 Play: Black/white square glitch

SOLVED
Enthusiast

Moto G6 Play: Black/white square glitch

The G6 Play has a kernel bug that causes the display to flash black or white squares briefly on the screen. I've sent logs to Motorola and no one has done anything or responded.
The problem...
Our boot.img kernel thinks that the phone has an 8 core CPU, when it doesn't. What happens? The kernel sends a request to surface flinger, which then attempts to draw the screen on core 4, 5, 6, or 7. These cores do not exist! Surface flinger then reports an error, that there is no response or power from cores 4-7. The screen shows black/white squares as surface flinger attempts to redraw the screen on cores 4-7, and stops when it cycles back to core 0.

Why isn't anyone fixing this, and who do I need to talk to about this? I'm an android developer by the way, this is why I was able to figure this out.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Enthusiast

Re: Moto G6 Play: Black/white square glitch

The Android 9.0 update has solved all of my devices software problems. You folks at virgin should hurry up and release update build PCP29.118-2, it is working flawlessly.

For anyone wondering, a nice guy on XDA captured the update from Boost Mobile and gave it to me. I flashed it through ADB and my device is working like it's brand new. Updates for Boost Mobile's Moto G6 Play will also work on the Virgin Mobile variant. If anyone needs help with this find our device forum on xda.
11 REPLIES 11
Agent

Appreciate you letting us know, Modhatter. You can contact Motorola's customer service here https://support.motorola.com/us/en/contactus. 

Enthusiast

I've already sent logs to Motorola, and they've done nothing. Also, the link you gave is invalid. Again, who do I need to send these logs to? This is as much your responsibility, as it is Motorola's. You are selling this device with defective software. Please respond accordingly. Your answer was not in any way helpful.